CONSERVATION ACT 1987

[PART 2A - NEW ZEALAND CONSERVATION AUTHORITY AND CONSERVATION BOARDS

[Conservation Boards

- [6P. Membership of Conservation Boards—
- (1) Every Board shall consist of not more than 12 members.
- (2)Except as provided in subsections (5), (6), [[(7), and (7A)]] of this section, the Minister shall appoint every member of a Board after giving public notice in accordance with subsection (4) of this section, and after consultation with the Conservation Authority, and having regard to—
 - (a) The particular features of land administered by the Department in the area of the Board's jurisdiction; and
 - (b) The interests of nature conservation, natural earth and marine sciences, recreation, tourism, and the local community including the tangata whenua of the area.
- (3)Before making any appointment representing the interests of the tangata whenua of an area, the Minister shall consult with the Minister of Maori Affairs about those interests.
- (4) Every notice required by subsection (2) of this section shall—
 - (a)State the number of appointments intended to be made to the Board:
 - (b)Call for nominations for membership of the Board to be sent to the Minister:
 - (c)State a date, being not less than 28 days after the date of the first publication of the notice, after which the Minister may decline to accept such nominations: [[(d)Be published—
 - (i)At least twice in a daily newspaper circulating in the area in which the Board will have jurisdiction; and
 - (ii)In such other communications media and on such occasions as the Minister may direct.]
- (5)The Board whose area of jurisdiction includes the Tongariro National Park shall consist of—
 - (a)Not more than eleven persons appointed under subsection (2) of this section; and
 - (b) The paramount chief for the time being of the Ngati Tuwharetoa Tribe of the Maori race, if that chief is a lineal descendant of Te Heuheu Tukino, the donor on behalf of his associated Chiefs of the Tribe of certain Maori land included in

the area of the park, or, if the paramount chief for the time being of that tribe is not a lineal descendant of Te Heuheu Tukino, a lineal descendant of Te Heuheu Tukino appointed by the Minister.

- (6)The Board whose area of jurisdiction includes the Egmont National Park shall consist of—
 - (a)Not more than eleven persons appointed under subsection (2) of this section; and
 - (b)One person to be appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the Taranaki Maori Trust Board.
- (7)The Board whose area of jurisdiction includes the Whanganui National Park shall consist of—
 - (a)Not more than eleven persons appointed under subsection (2) of this section; and
 - (b)One person appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the Whanganui River Maori Trust Board.
- [[(7A)The Board whose area of jurisdiction includes most of the Waikato claim area within the meaning of section 7 of the Waikato Raupatu Claims Settlement Act 1995 shall consist of not more than 12 persons, being—
 - (a)Not more than 11 persons appointed under subsection (2) of this section; and (b)The person who for the time being is recognised as the Head of Kahui Ariki, or a person appointed by the Minister on the nomination of the person so recognised.]]
- [[(7B)A Board whose area of jurisdiction is wholly within the Ngai Tahu claim area, as defined in section 8 of the Ngai Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998, must consist of not more than 12 persons, being—
 - (a)At least 2 persons appointed on the nomination of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu (as established by section 6 of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu Act 1996); and
 - (b) The remaining persons appointed under subsection (2).]]
- [[(7C)A Board whose area of jurisdiction is partly within the Ngai Tahu claim area, as defined in section 8 of the Ngai Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998, must consist of not more than 12 persons, being—
 - (a)At least 1 person appointed on the nomination of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu (as established by section 6 of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu Act 1996); and
 - (b) The remaining persons appointed under subsection (2).]]
- [[(7D)Subsections (2) and (4) do not apply in respect of persons to be appointed under subsections (7B)(a) and (7C)(a).]]

- (8)The appointment of any person by the Minister to be a member of a Board shall be made by notice published in the *Gazette*, and shall take effect from the date of such notice or such later date as may be specified in the notice.
- (9)No person employed by the Department under the State Sector Act 1988 shall be eligible to be a member of any Board.]